Adding cancellation fees to reservations

Posted on Updated on

The new version of the WebReserv Booking System has been released. The new version includes the ability to calculate cancellation fees.

To setup a cancellation fee or percentage, go to Setup – Business Information – Changes & Cancellations.

You can enter up to 3 rules for your business. Each rule has a time (prior to arrival date/time), penalty fee or %, and an indication of whether a customer can cancel the reservation directly.

In the example below, the cancellation penalty is 100% if cancelled less than 1 day in advance and 25% if cancelled more than 1 day but less than 7 days in advance. There is no cancellation penalty if the reservation is cancelled more than 7 days in advance. Note the last rule of 365 days. This is added to allow customers to cancel the reservation more than 7 days in advance.

Cancelled reservations

When a reservation is cancelled, the booking system performs the following:

  • Marks inventory/room/tours as available
  • Removes security deposit (if used)
  • Calculates cancellation penalty (if applicable – default is none)
  • Calculates final balance
  • Sends cancellation email to customer (if applicable – default is yes)

Here you’ll see a reservation before it is cancelled:

Now let’s look at the same reservation after it is cancelled 4 days in advance.

If needed, you can remove the cancellation fee by clicking the X (delete icon) on the cancellation fee line.

The booking system does not automatically charge or refund balances when a reservation is cancelled. To settle the balance, scroll down to the Payment Information section and click Add Payment or Refund.

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out / Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out / Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out / Change )

Google+ photo

You are commenting using your Google+ account. Log Out / Change )

Connecting to %s